NCNA History

The “North Carolina Numismatic Association” was originally formed in 1959 as the “North Carolina Coin Clubs Association” . The founding fathers purpose was to bring together local coin clubs and their members, as well as those interested in numismatics to areas where no local clubs were available.

The hope that one centralized state organization could help to bring benefits to the local area for additional education, promotion and assistance in maintaining and forming local clubs. The NCNA is continuing to attempt to do so. At present there are 27 Clubs within the State as well as neighboring States that participate in the efforts.

The Directors and Officers of the NCNA are continually looking for ways that they can help to provide educational opportunities and additional benefits for it’s Membership.

The Association holds an annual convention in the fall of each year. In addition to a bourse that features over 100 tables, the Association provides space and display cases for educational numismatic exhibits. Individuals compete for prizes that are awarded at the convention banquet. The convention always draws many informative and well-crafted exhibits.

The Association also publishes a quarterly journal, the NCNA Journal. It features a president’s message, articles written by members, a coin show calendar, profiles of member clubs, and advertisements from member dealers.


North Carolina Coin Clubs Association Presidents


1959Charles B. Robinson
1960E. J. Stoker
1961J.T. (Jim) Pheagin
1962E. Plonski
1963J.W. Jackson Jr.
1964T. C. Lohr
1965C.W. (Claude) Rankin
1966J.W.B. Bason
1967Ted H. Hendrick
1968J.T. (Jim) Pheagin
1969-1970Don Cloninger
1971F.M. (Forrest) Michael

January 1, 1972 – Changed name to North Carolina Numismatic Association


1972Marion Davis
1973E.T. Register
1974Ray McGuire
1975C.E. McHarque
1976D.L. (Dan) Talbert
1977L.D. (Lonnie) Stewart
1978J.W. (Jim) Little
1979W.J. (Bill) Wright
1980J. Tony Helton
1981David D. Porter
1982Edward E. Moore
1983-1984H. Fred Simpson, Jr.
1985-1986Donald G. Sharpe
1987-1988Wilburne F. Springs
1989-1990D. Clark White
1991-1992Autence A. Bason
1993-1994Charles L. Kimber
1995Paul J. Greene
1996-1997Will Jordan
1998-2001Halbert Carmichael
2002-2003Bob Schreiner
2004-2006Barry Ciociola
2007-2012Bill Brewer
2013-2016Jim Neely
2017-2018Barry Ciociola
2019-PresentGreg Cheek

Comments are closed.